is the nation’s one stop shop
for all of your staffing needs
A Must For Your Brand®

Michael Rivera is our LOTW!! – OG Edition!

Michael Rivera

Meet Michael!! One of our favorite OG LA Laners! Born in Puerto Rico, this Laner grew up in New York City before moving to Los Angeles. Now a family man, he lives there with his wife Isabel and their 3 year old son. When he’s not hustling on the Lane, you can find him playing sports, video games, or spending quality time with his sweet family. During quarantine they’ve really had a chance to spend more time together and they’ve enjoyed visiting the UCLA Botanical Garden, having picnics, and going for a swim! Sounds picturesque to us! We love this OG Laner and we can’t wait to see him back on the Lane!

Why do you LOVE working on the Lane?

The people. All of the wonderful people. From the top down. Kristal has been so kind to my wife and I for more than a decade. All of the bookers and staff are a breeze to work with/for. Of course my fellow BA’s. Mustard does an amazing job finding the nicest/most beautiful/blue collared BA’s in the biz. The entire process from putting in your availability to working the job and getting paid is the most seamless of any other company I have ever worked for. Shout out to the amazing Dijonexpress 2.0 as well! The actual gigs themselves are just fabulous. I have had so much fun working so many cool events through ML. It has been a true blessing.

What is your best attribute as a BA?

Attitude. AKA Gratitude!! I never show up to a job not happy to be there. Nothing about these jobs is hard to me. Of course there will be obstacles here and there, but in my eyes all of these jobs are a blessing in that they are more times than not fun and at a venue that is exciting to be at. So I make sure before I arrive that I am in high spirits and grateful for the opportunity to work for such a great company. Representing major brands from around the world.

Most memorable gig with ML?

Chase soundtrack at the forum (2016). This gig was special to me because it was the first time I was asked to be a lead in Los Angeles. It was a super cool gig. We worked two days a week for about six months. Some of my best friends on planet Earth I met at this gig. It was a gig where we had to trust and lean on each other. There were concerts every night we worked so the atmosphere was always super fun. A close second would be snapchat LA. We made bank on that one too! 🙂

What did you learn from your quarantine experience?

The importance of family time. I had been ripping and running for a year straight before Covid19 struck in March. I had been so busy with my head down. Nose to the grindstone hustling in whichever way I could to make sure that my family was okay. But what I didn’t realize was that I wasn’t spending enough time with my wife and son. A silver lining of this unfortunate virus has been the quality time that I have been able to spend with them. Going forward I will truly appreciate the quality time I have with them.

Are you back to work or gigs?

Yes and no. Work has slowed as you can imagine. But I keep myself busy. Whether it’s auditioning for commercials and movies or working Uber eats and door dash. Bills have to get paid. I absolutely miss all of the BA gigs. Can’t wait for things to get better.

What has been your biggest accomplishment so far?

That’s a tough one. I guess I’m most proud of my role in the film “Fighting.” I played Ajax opposite actors Channing Tatum and Terrence Howard. Fun action movie. I had a few good lines in it.

What are you looking to achieve in your career this year?

I’ve been investing in myself really. So that I can better provide for my family later. Just got my teeth fixed. Had been neglecting them for a long time. Getting healthier with exercise and gonna start a diet in July. Ate my face off the last 2 months. I still look good tho:)

Someone once said that success is when preparation meets opportunity. So I’ve just been preparing for the opportunities that are around the corner.

Are you typically a homebody or a social butterfly?

Definitely a hybrid. Depends on the day. I have always been nocturnal. I get stronger as the day goes on. I love to get out and be with people. But sometimes my favorite thing to do is get lazy and watch movies at home with my family.

How would your best friend describe you?

Competitive/Loyal/stubborn/consistent/ a little crazy/Huge heart!

To learn more about Michael feel free to check out his Instagram @jesusmichael!